Lawton Arts & Humanities Council


Mission Statement

Created April 29, 1969, a public trust, for the benefit of the City of Lawton, Oklahoma. To encourage and to coordinate cultural endeavors and activities and to promote knowledge and appreciation of the fine arts in the City of Lawton, and its metropolitan area.

There are fifteen trustees (council members) appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the governing body of the City of Lawton. These council members have an interest in and support all forms of the arts and humanities and are in accord with the philosophy and concept conveyed in the Trust Indenture; provided, however, in so far as possible, the Board of Trustees (council) includes at least one representative of Ft. Sill; one employee from Cameron University; and one employee from the Lawton Public Schools. Potential council members are nominated by the council's nominating committee and then voted on by the council. There are term limits for the council.

The officers of the council are Chair, Vice Chair, Treasurer, and Secretary. The Administrator of the Arts & Humanities Division of the Parks and Recreation Department serves as the Executive Director for the Lawton Arts & Humanities Council. The council meets the 2nd Wednesday each month to conduct business at an open meeting.






Lawton Arts & Humanities Council, c/o Arts & Humanities Div
P.O. Box 1054
Lawton, OK73502
United States


Mon to Fri, 8 am - 12 pm & 1-5 pm

Send us a message

About Us

April 29, 1969, the original trustees were Jack Warkentin and the trustees (council) were Dorothy Carter, Martha Sovell, Jennie McCutcheon, Joanne Warkentin, Aulena Gibson, Darold English, Exall English, Steve Kardaleff, Dan Glascock, C.P. Mercandante, George F. Smith, and Chester L. Wells. 

Lawton Arts & Humanities Council , FY 2020 - 21

  1. Reginald Ramey, Chair
  2. Allison Offield, Vice Chair
  3. Bobbi Matchette, Secretary/Treasurer
  4. Teresa Abram
  5. Anthony F. Griffith
  6. Chance Harmon
  7. Victor Leary
  8. David Malone
  9. Stan Melby
  10. Fabiola Navarro, Fort Sill Rep
  11. Dr. Charles Owens
  12. Max Sasseen
  13. David Torbert
  14. Scott Veenhuizen


International Festival Committee – In addition to the International Festival Committee members, a Lawton Arts & Humanities Council Trustee attends monthly meeting and reports on International Festival meetings to the Council.  Meets 1st Tuesday at 6:00 pm  (McMahon Memorial Auditorium). For more information, visit the International Festival Program.

Naturalization Reception Committee  – Coordinates and facilitates all aspects of the annual reception.

Trust Indenture/Bylaws Committee – 

Policy & Procedures Committee – Responsible for researching and developing new policies as needed to include the By-laws.  

Fundraising Committee – 

Nominating Committee – Recommends annual cultural award recipients, board officers and board members.  Oversees annual board orientation.  

Programming/Marketing Committee – Assists with current year program implementation as needed, to include marketing of all projects.


Lawton Arts & Humanities Council also serves with an outside organization, the Arts for All, Inc. The council has one vote on the AFA Board which meets 3rd Monday at 12:00 noon (Old Town Hall).  For more about the Arts for All organization, visit their website at

Learn more about each of the Lawton Arts & Humanities Council's Programs by clicking the links below

International Festival

Student Performance 

One to Six Art Purchase Competition

Lawton Cultural Awards