Chapman, Gill, Hampton elected to Lawton City Council


Published August 29, 2022

Lawton City Council will have a new face on the dais following the August 23rd Special Election.

George Gill won the race for Ward 4 with 44.73% of the vote. Though he did not receive 51% of the vote, the Comanche County Election Board and the Comanche County District Attorney named Gill the winner, following the unfortunate passing of his opponent, Barbara Curry who received 28.61% of the vote.

The Oklahoma State Statute and City of Lawton Charter states “If one of the two candidates for an office nominated in a primary election dies or withdraws before the general election, the remaining candidate shall be elected to that office; and his name need not appear on the ballot for the general election.”

Incumbent Linda Chapman will remain the Ward 3 City Councilmember after receiving 71.93% of the vote.

Alan Hampton did not draw an opponent and will remain the Ward 5 City Councilmember.

We’d like to congratulate Gill, Chapman and Hampton. They will be sworn into office on January 9, 2023.


This content has been published by:

City Council

Visit Web page

The City Council approves all ordinances, resolutions, and contracts, including but not limited to property sales, acquisitions and leases as well as ...


580 581 3305


City of Lawton
212 SW 9th Street
Lawton, OK73501
United States